Race results and comment 07-14.12

Further results to come…




Another victory for Evie Richards (#24, alongside Hannah Payton and Alice Barnes)

National Trophy #5 – Bradford
A far muddier circuit than Round 4 made for tricky conditions, but with far less wind than Ipswich (where gusts hit 50mph) it was all about outright speed rather than tactics. The race got off to a very fast start with Pearl Izumi’s Beth Crumpton leading the way off the tarmac and onto the soft stuff. Evie Richards, who won in Ipswich, slipped and fell during that first lap, losing valuable seconds; however, her hard work throughout the rest of the event paid off – after fighting her way through to the front, she began to inch ahead. Using grit, determination, strength and a text-book example of a speedy visit to the pits, she turned inches into yards and before too long was right out in front; top-notch bike handling and plenty more strength enabled her to maintain her advantage to the line, where she finished only a second shy of two minutes ahead of Hannah Payton. Crumpton, who had ridden so well right from the start, took third place another 32″ later.


Look out for Sophie Wright – in a few years when she’s National Champion*, you’ll be able to tell people you saw her in one of her first races (*Which she already is, in MTB)

A special mention must once again be given to Sophie Wright – the Renvale RT rider, who is just 16 years old, was in her second ever National Trophy event and, she told Neutral Service after Round 4, only her fifth or sixth ‘cross race. Her sixth place, 10″ behind no less a rider than Amira Mellor, is therefore a remarkable result and suggests many glorious victories to come.

1 Evie Richards (T-Mo Racing; S) 41’11” 100pts
2 Hannah Payton (Kinesis UK; S) 43’10” 80pts
3 Bethany Crumpton (Pearl Izumi-Sports Tours International; S) 43’42” 70pts
4 Ffion James (Abergavenny RC; S) 44’14” 60pts
5 Amira Mellor (Oldfield/Paul Milnes Cycles ERT; S) 44’25” 55pts
6 Sophie Wright (Renvale RT; J) 44’35” 50pts
7 Emily Wadsworth (Beeline-Gener8; S) 45’51” 45pts
8 Delia Beddis (ViCiOUS VELO; S) 46’17” 40pts
9 Merce Pacios Pujadó (Zappi’s; S) 46’38” 35pts
10 Diane Lee (Mulebar Girl-Sigma Sport; S) 47’01” 30pts
11 Alice Barnes (Betch.NL-Superior-Brentjens; S) 48’00” 27pts
12 Abi Van Twisk (Corley Cycles-Drops; S) 48’04” 24pts
13 Annabel Simpson (Hope Factory Racing; S) 49’48” 22pts
14 Eileen Roe (Wiggle-Honda; S) 50’07”) 20pts
15 Rebecca Preece (Red Rose Olympic CC; S) 50’33” 18pts
16 Claire Beaumont (ViCiOUS VELO; S) 51’23” 16pts
17 Sophie Thackray (Oldfield/Paul Milnes Cycles ERT; J) 51’42” 14pts
18 Ruby Miller (Hargroves-Ridley; S) 13pts
19 Joanna Rycroft (www.cxmagazine.com; S) 12pts
20 Ella Conolly (Ben Wyvis CC; J) 11pts
21 Madeleine Gammons (Sherwood Pines Cycles-SRAM; J) 10pts
22 Jennifer Batey (Vertex; S) 9pts
23 Megan Kay (Vieri Velo RC; J) 8pts
24 Emily Barnes (Beeline Bicycles; S) 7pts
25 Natalie Batey (Tyne&Wear Fire&Rescue CC; S) 6pts


Maddi Smith gave a ‘cross masterclass

Possibly the most perfect performance in any of the Bradford races, Maddi Smith showed the crowd how ‘cross should be ridden. Taking the perfect line each and every time, only a crash could have kept her from victory – but in this race, she was far too good for that to happen.

1 Maddi Smith (Bolsover & District CC) 36’51” 40pts
2 Helen Pattinson (Solent Pirates) 37’57” 34pts
3 Alison Kinloch (PH MAS-VCUK) 38’26” 30pts
4 Nicola Davies (Beacon Wheelers) 38’50” 26pts
5 Bev Martin (Adept Precision RT/NE Healthcare) 40’58” 23pts
6 Andrea Rodgers (Norton Wheelers) 42’14” 20pts
7 Jackie Field (CC Ashwell) 42’41” 18pts
8 Juliet Horrocks (Hope Factory Racing) 43’49” 16pts
9 Lynn Bland (Norton Wheelers) 44’42” 14pts
10 Nicola Hartle (PH MAS-VCUK) 46’47” 12pts
11 Joanne Allan (Blumilk.com) 47’04” 10pts
12 Julie Phelan (Pro Vision) 47’18” 9pts
13 Pamela Glover (Derwentside CC) 8pts

Poppy Wildman was the obvious favourite, having won all four of the previous rounds, but this time came off second best after being unable to catch Harriet Harnden who recovered from an early crash before taking full control.

1 Harriet Harnden (Malvern Cycle Sport) 80pts
2 Poppy Wildman (Nottingham Clarion) 68pts
3 Megan James (Abergavenny RC) 60pts
4 Kim Baptista (Nutcracker Racing) 52pts
5 Xan Crees (EmpellaCyclo-Cross.com) 46pts
6 Fiona Turnbull (Speedflex RT) 40pts
7 April Tacey (Leicestershire RC) 36pts
8 Lily Greenhalgh (East Bradford CC) 32pts
9 Lucy Whearty (Pedalsport CC) 28pts
10 Lucy Naylor (Paul Milnes-Bradford Olympic RC) 24pts
11 Elena Smith (Fossa Racing) 20pts
12 Lauren Higham (Welwyn Wheelers) 18pts
13 Olivia Fawcett (Hetton Hawks CC) 16pts
14 Olivia Bent (Border City Wheelers) 14pts
15 Ruby Boyes (Huddersfield Star Wheelers) 12pts


Ava Oxley-Szilagyi, another star of the future (or indeed a star of the present, if you follow youth cycling – which you should)

Anna Flynn looked like a safe bet for victory until a difficult corner caught her out and she lost time; despite a valiant attempt to get back to the front she was unable to catch Ava Oxley-Szilagyi and Maddie Wadsworth, ending up in third place behind them.

1 Ava Oxley-Szilagyi (PH MAS-VCUK) 80pts
2 Maddie Wadsworth (Beeline Bicycles) 68pts
3 Anna Flynn (Edinburgh RC) 60pts
4 Sarah Briggs (Matlock CC) 52pts
5 Anna Wadsworth (Beeline Bicycles) 46pts
6 Eluned King (Towy Riders) 40pts
7 Amelie Wayte (www.Zepnat.com RT-Lazer) 36pts
8 Kayleigh Wells (York Cycleworks) 32pts
9 Harley Pell (CC Ashwell) 28pts
10 Jasmine Kent (Speedflex RT) 24pts
11 Maisy Vasic (Eastlands Velo) 20pts
12 Libby Smith (Fossa Racing) 18pts
13 Chloe Hinchliffe (Holmfirth CC) 16pts
14 Olivia Ingham (Pedalsport CC) 14pts
15 Emily Conn (Palmer Park Velo) 12pts
16 Amber Hull (East Bradford CC) 10pts
17 Roisin Lally (Derwentside CC) 8pts



Imani Pereira-James was victorious in the U12 race at the Cross at the Castle, proving once again that she’s one of the most interesting youth riders in the UK today

Cross At The Castle
Lucy Grant (Peebles CC) won. Brenda Callander (Stirling Bike Club) was top Vet, Eleanor Strathdee (Edinburgh RC) was top Junior.

Neutral Service will have a race report from Ainsley Turbitt of VC Moulin later this week.

1 Lucy Grant (Peebles CC; S) 20pts
2 Madeleine Robinson (VC Moulin; S) 16pts
3 Jenny Holl (Stirling BC) 0pts
4 Elizabeth Adams (Glasgow Green CC; S) 9pts
5 Morven Brown (Dales Cycles RT Scotland; S) 7pts
6 Brenda Callander (Stirling BC; V) 5pts
7 Marie Meldrum (Nevis Cycles RT; V) 4pts
8 Elizabeth Clayton (Lichfield City CC; V) 3pts
9 Erika Allen (VC Moulin; S) 2pts
10 Margaret Normand (Hervelo) 0pts
11 Janice Thomson, 12 Eleanor Strathdee (Edinburgh RC; J), 13 Ainsley Turbitt (VC Moulin; V), 14 Elisa Smith (VC Moulin), 15 Jacqueline Marquis (VC Moulin), 16 Christine Cruz (S), 17 Aileen Tan, 18 Emma Lamont (www.Dooleys-Cycles.co.uk), 19 Pammie Ball, 20 Nicola Johnson (Hervelo: S), 21 Katie Newlands (VC Moulin: S), 22 Rhona Callander (Stirling BC: J)

1 Anna McGorum (Peebles CC) 6pts
2 Polly Henderson (Stewartry Wheelers) 4pts
3 Megan Wilkinson (Peebles CC) 3pts
4 Estelle Fuller (Edinburgh RC) 2pts
5 Ishbel Strathdee (Edinburgh RC) 1pt

1 Elena McGorum (Peebles CC) 3pts
2 Emily Wilkinson (Peebles CC) 2pts
3 Katherine Macleod (Edinburgh RC) 1pts
4 Sophie Paterson (Glasgow Riderz)

U12 (no points awarded)
Yet another victory for 11-year-old Imani! Excellent on the road as well as off it, Imani’s definitely a rider to watch over the next decade or so – if she wants to, she’ll go a long way.

1 Imani Pereira-James (Glasgow Riderz), 2 Emily Carrick-Anderson (Peebles CC), 3 Christina Mcgorum (Peebles CC), 4 Rudie Shearer (Edinburgh RC), 5 Morven Yeoman (E Kilbride RC), 6 Ruby-Soho Smith (Peebles CC), 7 Daisy Wilkinson



Further results to come…


Last week’s results and comment