Domestic Results 17-24.03.2014

Crit on the Campus 23.03.14

There was no stopping Katie Archibald at the Crit on the Campus (image: Boot Out Breast Cancer)

There was no stopping Katie Archibald at the Crit on the Campus (image: Boot Out Breast Cancer)

The Crit organisers, who feared that they might not attract sufficient numbers of riders to make the women’s event a success, must be giving thanks for Twitter: women’s cycling fans used the website to spread awareness of the race and encourage more sign-ups, and the start list ended up 30-strong – including some very well-known names such as Team Pursuit World Champion Katie Archibald.

Archibald escaped with Kayleigh Brogan (Thompsons) and Jane Barr (MG-Maxifuel) as soon as the race got underway and could not be brought back – though Rebecca Nixon, in her first ever race, had a damn good go at it and was out in front of the main group for almost the entire race, taking fourth place and what must be one of the most deserved Combativity prizes ever won. The force is strong in this one: keep an eye on her in future races.

1 Katie Archibald (Pearl Izumi-Boot Out Breast Cancer) 10
2 Kayleigh Brogan (Team Thomsons Cycles) 8
3 Jane Barr (MG-Maxifuel) 7
4 Rebecca Nixon (Dundee Thistle RC) 6
5 Flora Gillies (Speg-Project 51) 5
6 Madeleine Robinson (VC Moulin) 4
7 Claire Martin (Team 22) 3
8 Gabriella Nordin (Pedal Power RT) 2
9 Brenda Callander (Stirling Bike Club) 1
10 Neah Evans (Glasgow Wheelers) 1
Full result and other classifications

Race to the Spring Series: Round 3 23.03.14

1 Jennifer Edwards (Team 22) 15
2 Laura Ellis (Velo Club Melyd) 12
Other classifications


Modbury Spring Road Races 23.03.14

A six-strong group escaped at the end of the first of three laps and rapidly demonstrated superiority over the bunch, continuing to extend their lead into the final lap. Anneliese Heard of Starley Primal used the final climb to attack and took the last bend solo before crossing the line with a few seconds’ advantage over Natalie Grinczer (Fusion).

1 Anneliese Heard (Starley Primal) 15
2 Natalie Grinczer (Fusion) 12
3 Jennifer Hudson (VC St Raphael) 10
4 Gillian Taylor (Fusion) 8
5 Mary McFadzean (Revo) 6
6 Josephine Gilbert ( One and All) 5
7 Rose Osborne (High Wycombe CC) 4
8 Nicola Noble 3
9 Alexandra Sheehan (Merlin Cycles) 2
10 Kate Baker (High Wycombe CC) 1


Cardiff JIF Lungopener/Princess Of Wales Race 23.03.14

U8/U10/U12/U14/U16 Classifications


Ipswich BC Spring Scramble 23.03.14

1 Elanor Cadzow (Bonito Squadra Corse) 30
2 Maryka Sennema (Kingston Wheelers CC) 25
3 Tanya Griffiths (Starley Primal Pro Cycling) 21
4 Brit Tate (GB 17
5 Nicola Soden (GB 14
6 Emma Rata 12
7 Caroline Guest (Ford CC) 10
8 Melissa Dowell (Braintree VC RT) 8
9 Evgenia Ilyinskaya (Edinburgh RC) 7
10 Ruth Hamilton-Barr (Colchester Rovers CC) 6


Highfield Kitchens/Godleys Bikes North East Spring Cup Round 3 22.03.14

Henrietta Colborne, aged just 15, makes a serious impression by beating more experienced GB Cycles riders to the line.

1 Henrietta Colborne (Beacon Wheelers) 15
2 Brit Tate (GB 12
3 Iona Sewell (GB 10
4 Amy Souter (Albarosa Cycling Club) 8
5 Debbie Pine 0
Other classifications


Team MK/23C Bowl Series No.2 22.03.14

1 Maxine Filby (Trek Bicycle Coventry) 15
2 Bonnie van Wilgenburg (Zappi’s Racing Team) 12
3 Michelle Sellars (London Phoenix CC) 10
4 Jessica Stoddart 8
5 Cheryl Vaughan (Matlock CC) 6
6 Lauren Humphreys (Rugby Velo) 5
7 Sally Smith (Medway VC) 4
8 Elizabeth Shirley (Team Milton Keynes) 3
9 Lisa Foster (High Wycombe CC) 2
10 Jennifer Lake (Squadra Donne) 1


Beyond Spring Crits 2014 – Event 1 22.03.14

U8/U12/U14/U16 classifications


WWCRT Spring Races 3 22.03.14

1 Lois Brewer (Ystwyth CC) 10
2 Charlotte Jennings (Bynea CC) 8
3 Leah Brewer (Ystwyth CC) 7
4 Nia Richards (West Wales Cycle Racing Team) 6
Other classifications


Eagle Road Club Women’s Team Series 22.03.14

Laura Massey (Epic-Scott WRT) was fastest a record field of 101 riders to win the first event of the 2014 Team Series. Massey escaped the pack in a group of three relatively early in the race, but they were caught  with two laps left – so she simply attacked again, harder than before, and rode solo for the greater part of a lap before Grace Garner (RST) and Mathilde Pauls (Fusion) caught her. The trio proved too strong for a chase group numbering some forty riders, and Massey was unbeatable in the final uphill sprint to the line.

1 Laura Massey
2 Mathilde Pauls
3 Grace Garner
4 Merce Pacios Pujadó
5 Megan Barker
6 Abigail Dentus
7 Emily Nelson
8 Suzetta Guerrini
9 Parys Edwards
10 Dani Christmas
Other classifications

Leicester Mercury report


Wolverhampton Wheelers CC Circuit Race 1 22.03.14

1 Kelly Moore (Felt-Colbornes-Hargroves) 15
2 Elisa Zamboni (Beeston RC) 12
3 Lyndsey Glazier (Starley Primal) 10
4 Gina Riley (Chester RC) 8
5 Eleanor Jones (VC St Raphael) 6
6 Lou Collins (Beeston RC) 5
7 Bethany Coupland (Mid Shropshire Wheelers) 4
8 Maisie Duckworth (Wolverhampton Wheelers) 3
9 Joanne Jago (Performance Cycles) 2
10 Rosemary Homer (Newport Shropshire CC) 1
Full result


Spring Cotton Spinners’ Crit 22.03.14

1 Rebecca Rimmington (Merlin Cycles) 15
2 Rachel Murray (VC St Raphael) 12
3 Nikola Butler (VC St Raphael) 10
4 Claire Rutherford (Team Wheelguru) 8
5 Sarah Griffiths (Manchester Wheelers) 6
6 Sarah Rose (Team 22) 5
7 Alisa Healy (Huddersfield Star Wheelers) 4
8 Lorna Fisher (GKV RT) 3
9 Joanne Street (Manchester Wheelers) 2
10 Gabrielle Duckworth (Salt Ayre Cog Set) 1