Women’s Team Series Coalville Road Race Report – by Philip Weaver

Epic Cycles-Scott WRT manager Philip Weaver was at Coalville to watch his team take first and third in the final round of the 2014 Women’s Team Series. Here’s his race report.

Report © Philip Weaver; photos © Huw Williams.


Bunch gallopThe final round of the Women’s Team Series saw a record entry, with a full field on the start line near Coalville for 55 rolling miles on excellent roads in some perfect late summer weather.

Being the final big race of the season the atmosphere in the new clubhouse HQ during sign-on was relaxed. But once the racing started the pace was far from sedate, with a flurry of early attacks leading to a fair bit of attrition at the back of the field.

Towards the end of the first 9 mile lap Liz Malins (Fusion RT) countered an earlier move and quickly opened a 15 second gap. A small group took up the chase, before Molly Weaver (Epic Cycles – Scott WRT) bridged across from the front of the field to the leader.

Working well together the duo steadily moved away from the peloton, while their team mates covered any attempts to start an effective chase.

By the end of the penultimate lap their lead stood at over 5 minutes as the bunch realised they would not make the catch, so it was clear that the winner would come from the break. Both riders continued to work together, but without quite the same urgency as the finish approached and their attention turned to the sprint.

Weaver and Malins break away

Weaver and Malins break away from the bunch

Just before the final climb Malins tried a surprise early attack, but Weaver slotted onto her wheel and so was perfectly positioned as they crested the climb and entered the long finishing straight. With around 150m to go Weaver came off Malin’s wheel and sprinted clear to her first major win of the season.

Around 5 minutes later the bunch sprint for 3rd was won by Laura Massey (Epic Cycles – Scott WRT) while riding her team-mate’s bike after a last lap swap following a mechanical.

Epic Cycles – Scott WRT also secured the overall Women’s Team Series title, with Fusion RT in 2nd and Bonito Squadra Corse taking 3rd.

Top Ten (provisional)
1 Molly Weaver (Epic Cycles-Scott)
2 Elizabeth (Malins-Fusion)
3 Laura Massey (Epic Cycles-Scott)
4 Jennifer George (Les Filles)
5 Holly James (Composite Team)
6 Helen Ralston (Les Filles)
7 Louise Mahe (Mulebar Girl-Sigma Sport)
8 Jennifer Hudson (VC St Raphael)
9 Natalie Grinczer (Fusion)
10 Bethany Hayward (Matrix-Vulpine)


Late in the break

Weaver takes win

Weaver wins!

Series winners

Epic Cycles-Scott WRT won the Series overall