Cheshire Classic

Still better-known as a track rider (and with good reason – she was part of the gold medal-winning Team Pursuit squad at the World Championships in February), 20-year-old Katie Archibald has been making a big mark on road cycling this season: she won the Crit on the Campus a month ago. A solo win at the Cheshire Classic, for many the biggest and best one-day women’s race in Britain, proves that she’s a talented road racer and one to watch in the future.

The early laps of the 92km race (extended from the original 77km) saw countless attacks. None stuck, but as the peloton increased its pace and the repeated ascents of the difficult Acton Lane hill took an effect riders began to drop out of contention – 19 finished outside the time limit and another 14 did not finish.

Two laps from the finish, Archibald attacked and was joined by her team mate Hayley Jones, and the duo rapidy put 50″ between themselves and the chasers. Jones had done all she could do by the beginning of the final lap, but by this time there was no stopping Archibald who needed only to keep going to take a fine victory. In fact, she did better than that, finding the strength to increase her advantage to 1’31” over Jones and 1’45” over the third-placed rider, her Team Pursuit colleague Laura Trott of Wiggle-Honda.

Archibald was also awarded the Intermediate Sprint prize, while Jones took the Combativity prize. Peal Izumi-Sports Tours International were the top team.


Pearl Izumi-Sports Tours International race report

1 Katie Archibald (Pearl Izumi Sports Tours International) 2h30’20”
2 Hayley Jones (Pearl Izumi Sports Tours International) +1’31”
3 Laura Trott (Wiggle-Honda) +1’45”
4 Nicola Juniper (Pearl Izumi Sports Tours International) +1’47”
5 Lowri Devey (Abergavenny RC) ST
6 Lydia Gurley (Merlin Cycles) ST
7 Gabriella Shaw (Pearl Izumi Sports Tours International) ST
8 Katie Curtis (Starley Primal Pro Cycling) ST
9 Molly Weaver (Epic-Scott WRT) ST
10 Anna Christian (Epic-Scott WRT) ST
11 Jane Barr (Starley Primal) ST
12 Jessie Walker (Matrix-Vulpine) ST
13 Clemence Copie (Team Mulebar Girl-Sigma Sport) ST
14 Elizabeth Holden (RST Racing Team) ST
15 Natalie Grinczer (Fusion RT) ST
16 Lydia Boylan (Velosport-Pasta Montegrappa) ST
17 Rebecca Womersley (WyndyMilla-Reynolds) ST
18 Penny Rowson (Matrix-Vulpine) ST
19 Eve Dixon (Team 22) ST
20 Alexie Shaw (Epic-Scott) ST
21 Tamina Oliver (Endura Lady Force-WV Zeeuws Vlaanderen) ST
22 Tamiko Butler (WyndyMilla-Reynolds) ST
23 Alice Cobb (Squadra Donne) ST
24 Jo Tindley (Matrix-Vulpine) ST
25 Alice Barnes (T-Mo Racing) ST
26 Jennifer Hudson (VC St Raphael) ST
27 Vanessa Whitfield (VC St Raphael) ST
28 Helen Ralston (Les Filles) ST
29 Lucy Chittenden (East St. Cycles/WyndyMilla-Reynolds) ST
30 Mathilde Pauls (Fusion Racing) ST
31 Jennifer Taylor (Starley Primal) ST
32 George Schwiening (Fusion Racing) ST
33 Natalie Creswick (Team Mulebar Girl-Sigma Sport) ST
34 Lauren Creamer (Pearl Izumi Sports Tours International) ST
35 Karla Boddy (Epic-Scott) +2’01” (2013 winner)
36 Joanne Blakeley (GB ST
37 Maryka Sennema (Kingston Wheelers) ST
38 Emma Trott (Boels-Dolmans) +2’12”
39 Sarah Storey (Pearl Izumi Sports Tours International) ST
40 Corrine Hall (Matrix-Vulpine) +2’34”
Finished outside time limit
41 Louise Mahe (Team Mulebar Girl-Sigma Sport)
42 Louise Borthwick (Matrix-Vulpine)
43 Iona Sewell (Epic-Scott)
44 Hannah Walker (Epic-Scott)
45 Emily Kay (Epic-Scott)
46 Gina Riley (Chester RC)
47 Elanor Cadzow (Bonito Squadra Corse)
48 Annasley Park (RST Racing Team)
49 Amy Hill (Fusion Racing)
50 Victoria Grimmer (Paramount CRT)
51 Nikki Engelbach (Les Filles)
52 Ruth Taylor (Manchester Wheelers)
53 Adel Tyson-Bloor (Team Mulebar Girl-Sigma Sport)
54 Elizabeth Malins (Fusion Racing)
55 Lauren O’Brien (RST Racing Team)
56 Hayley Simmonds (Velosport-Pasta Montegrappa)
57 Nicole Oh (Les Filles)
58 Eleanor Jones (VC St Raphael)
59 Cassie McGoldrick (WyndyMilla-Reynolds)
14 riders did not finish. 1 rider (Hannah Payton, WyndyMilla-Reynolds) was disqualified.


Courtesy of Rebecca Cooper, we’ve got some very nice photos of the action.











The eight photos above are © Rebecca Cooper. Please do not reuse without gaining permission.