Cant beats Vos at Krawatencross; Helen Wyman third


Beating the World Champion must feel great. When that World Champion is Marianne Vos, and you also beat the European Champion Helen Wyman, it must feel absolutely fantastic – which explains Belgian Champion Sanne Cant’s delight as she took the top step of the podium following Saturday’s BPost Bank Trofee Krawatencross race at Lille.

The victory was sweetened yet further due to the Belgian having been fourth  at last weekend’s World Championships where Vos won and Wyman was third – and by the fact that Vos won this very race for the last two years, beating Cant (3rd 2012, 2nd 2013) on both occasions.

Wyman, who is British Champion for the eighth time this season as well as European Champion for the second time, seemed unable to match Cant and Vos as the race progressed and left the pair fighting a private battle all of their own, each rider refusing to back down all the way to the final approach to the finish. With the race looking certain to end in a sprint the majority of fans will have been expecting Vos to add yet another victory to her spectacular palmares despite Cant’s skill on a sandy parcours such as this, but then the Dutch superstar’s foot slipped from the pedal. She probably lost no more than a fraction of a second, but it was enough: Cant noticed and attacked hard, taking the tiny advantage that was she needed to triumph.

Wyman will also be pleased with her result: she’s never stood on the podium at this race before. Although she still leads the series overall, her advantage is now just 31″ to Cant (Nikki Harris, the only other Brit racing at Krawatencross where she was fourth, is third overall at +1’11”) – the final round, taking place at Oostmalle on the 23rd of February, promises therefore to be one of the season highlights.

Helen Wyman’s race report

Video: Cant wins Krawatencross

Krawatencross Full Result

1  Sanne Cant (Enertherm – Bkcp)  BEL
2  Marianne Vos (Rabobank Women Team)  NED
3  Helen Wyman (Kona)  GBR
4  Nikki Harris (Telenet Fidea Cycling Team Young NPI)  GBR
5  Loes Sels (Young Telenet Fidea)  BEL
6  Sophie De Boer (Kdl Cycling Team)  NED
7  Yara Kastelijn (Rtc Buitenlust)  NED
8  Ellen Van Loy (Young Telenet-Fidea)  BEL
9  Pavla Havlikova (Young Telenet – Fidea)  CZE
10  Githa Michiels (Toka Print Mtb Team)  BEL
11 Karen Verhestraeten (Sengers Ladies Cycling Team) BEL
12 Reza Ravenstijn-Hormes NED
13 Jolien Verschueren (Dncs/pro 2012 Cycling Team) BEL
14 Esmee Oosterman (Wrv DE Peddelaars) NED
15 Laura Verdonschot (Vzw Lotto – Ladiescycling) BEL
16 Maud Kaptheyns NED
17 Katrien Thijs (UP Cycling Team) BEL
18 Hilde Quintens BEL
19 Lotte Eikelenboom (Drc De Mol) NED
20 Kim Banga NED
21 Christine Vardaros (Baboco – Revor Cycling Team) USA
22 Shana Maes BEL
23 Ilona Meter (Rcp Stevens) NED
24 Nele Van Maldeghem BEL
25 Suzie Godart LUX
26 Suzanne Verhoeven NED
27 Gertie Willems BEL
28 Meg De Bruyne BEL
29 Lena Bischoff-Stein
30 Nathalie Nijns BEL
31 Tine Verdeyen BEL
32 Lene Vrijsen BEL
33 Mara Schwager GER
34 Caren Commissaris (UP Cycling Team) BEL
35 Valerie Boonen BEL
36 Laura Krans NED
37 Anja Geldhof BEL
38 Brenda Kaczmarczyk BEL
39 Yenthe Boons BEL
40 Jessika Timmermans BEL
41 Cindy Diericx BEL
42 Britta Werners GER
43 Caitlyn La Haye BEL
44 Sandra Sintobin BEL

More Cross News… Harris wins Superprestige Hoogstraten / Shorts and Links